Supporting Innovation in Pharmacy for a Healthier Canada


The editorial board for Pharmacy Management in Canada sincerely thanks the 56 contributing authors and 41 reviewers who volunteered their time and expertise to make this textbook a uniquely Canadian, quality educational tool.

We would also like to recognize the Board of Directors at the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy (CFP), who put the capital at risk to make this project a reality. Without their vision, this project would not have taken flight. They saw the need for this textbook in the pharmacy community and provided the much-needed support to set events in motion. The journey toward a finished product was achieved under the expert direction of Dayle Acorn, CFP’s Executive Director. 

Since 1945, the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy has fulfilled its mandate of advancing the profession of pharmacy. Through the Innovation Fund, CFP has supported a number of research projects that are focussed on demonstrating the value that pharmacists can contribute to the Canadian healthcare system. We hope that this textbook will also contribute to the advancement of the profession by helping to develop the next generation of pharmacists.

We would also like to extend our gratitude to Christine LeBlanc, managing editor, for keeping this project moving and grounded in sound editorial context. And we thank Brush Education, which provided the steady guidance of a publishing house to see this project to completion.

Supporting the Foundation were a number of companies and individuals who very generously provided unrestricted educational grants, as detailed below.

Principal Benefactors

  • Green Shield Canada - $25,000
  • McKesson Canada - $25,000
  • Pharmascience - $20,000
  • Desante Canada - $15,000
  • Ontario Pharmacists Association - $10,000

Patrons - $5,000

  • Alberta Pharmacists Association (RxA)
  • Allied Pharmacists Inc.
  • AstraZeneca Canada
  • BC Chain Drug Stores
  • Pharmasave Drugs (National) Ltd.
  • Safeway Pharmacy
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • TEVA Canada
  • Turner Drug Store Ltd., London ON (in memory of Glen Robb)

 Friends of the Foundation - $1,000

AdhereRx in Toronto, ON and Sunshine Coast, BC

Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists, Ottawa, ON

Jones Healthcare, London, ON

LEO Pharma, Toronto, ON

Lovell Drugs, Oshawa, ON

Manitoba Society of Pharmacists, Winnipeg, MB

Shoppers Drug Mart National Associates Alumni

Remedy’sRx, Markham, ON 


In addition to the corporations above that generously supported this initiative, a number of individual pharmacists answered the personal call to “leave a legacy.” Their generous support is greatly appreciated.

Elaine Akers, Peterborough, ON

Carolyn & Neil Bornstein, Newmarket, ON

Rick & Sandy Brown, Aurora, ON

Aubrey Browne & Dalia Salib, Toronto, ON

William & Barbara Coon, Muskoka Medical Centre Pharmacy, Muskoka, ON

Roger Daher, Lefko Pharmasave #794, Toronto, ON

Ryan Fullerton, Brown’s Guardian Pharmacy, Walkerton, ON 

Ivan Ho, Kennebacasis Drugs, Rothesay, NB

Sheila Kemp, Aikenheads Pharmacy, Renfrew, ON

Claudia McKeen, Ottawa, ON

Carole & Michael McKiee, Toronto, ON

Esmail Merani,Carleton Place Drugmart IDA, Carleton Place, ON

Marshall Moleschi, Toronto, ON

Gerry Morelli, Bird-Mor Drugs Ltd., Hamilton, ON

Brian Mulvihill, Jane Mulvihill & Joan Weise, in memory of Thomas Mulvihill, Pembroke, ON

Frank Murgic, Sunshine Drug Ltd., Windsor, ON

Rob Parsons, Ingersoll Pharmasave, Ingersoll, ON

Balu Patel, Balu’s Guardian Pharmacy, Stirling, ON

Linda Prytula, Burlington, ON

Dom Ricciutto, Ingersoll Pharmasave, Ingersoll, ON

Mark F. Scanlon, Mather & Bell IDA Pharmacy, Peterborough, ON

The Simpson Family, Niagara on the Lake, ON

Mac & Linda Sparrow, Burlington, ON

Roxanne Tang, Markham, ON

Dr. Jake Thiessen, Unionville, ON

Scott Wilton, Collingwood, ON

David & Cathy Windross, Toronto, ON

Rita Winn, Peterborough, ON 

Karen Wolfe, Toronto, ON

David Yurek, Health Centre Pharmacy, St. Thomas, ON

Marita Zaffiro, Marchese Health Care Hamilton, ON

Dr. J. Gordon Duff (in memory), Professor Emeritus, College of Pharmacy, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS