Supporting Innovation in Pharmacy for a Healthier Canada

Accolades for Pillar of Pharmacy award recipient, Carole McKiee

2016 Pillar of Pharmacy recipient Carole McKiee with Dayle Acorn, Executive Director of CFP

NOVEMBER 2016 - Some 165 people gathered in downtown Toronto last month to pay tribute to this year’s Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy (CFP) Pillar of Pharmacy Award recipient, Carole McKiee. Describing her as a mentor, innovator, change-agent and caring friend, former colleagues, friends and family members stood up to praise her accomplishments and impact on the profession.

“Every major accomplishment I’ve had I can bring back to Carole’s advice,” said CFP Board Member Sandra Carey, CEO for McCann Pharmacy Initiatives. “She is the most influential person in my life.” Allan Malek, Ontario Pharmacists’ Association’s Senior VP Professional Affairs, shared a similar sentiment noting: “I’ve never told you what an impact you’ve had on my professional career.”

Longtime colleague Sydney Shrott of Medical Pharmacies Group, applauded her leadership skills, calling her an “icon” in the pharmacy community, while Deb Saltmarche, Senior Director Professional Affairs at Shoppers Drug Mart, thanked McKiee for providing her with her very first pharmacy opportunity in Canada. “You had faith in me, as well as hope, trust and respect—I’ll never forget that.”

McKiee ended the night with a touching speech recognizing the support of her husband, Nelles, along with her two sons and their partners. She also thanked the faculties, associations and organizations for their leadership and belief in pharmacy. “We will always have challenges but we will always rise above them,” she said.

“It is certainly the pinnacle of my career to receive such an honour,” added McKiee, crediting CFP for providing her with a $100 bursary back in 1961. “That was really important to me then, and a long belated thank you for that!”

Photos from the awards gala can be viewed on CFP's Facebook page.

Related link:

2016 news article - Carole McKiee this year's Pillar of Pharmacy