Supporting Innovation in Pharmacy for a Healthier Canada

Menopause research earns AFPC/CFP Award

David Edwards, AFPC President and CFP Board Member, presents the AFPC/CFP Award to Tasneem Siyam

JULY 2018 - The Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada (AFPC) has awarded the 2018 AFPC/CFP Award to Tasneem Siyam from the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Alberta (UoA), for her research related to menopausal therapies. This award, sponsored by the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy, is given to a graduate student for the best original research paper in an area of pharmacy practice.

Siyam is the lead author on a paper published in Menopause, entitled “Perspectives and Decision-Making about Menopausal Therapies in Women Who had Bilateral Oophorectomy.” This research identified several modifiable deterrents to decision-making in early surgical menopause, which can help inform the development of a patient decision aid.

Siyam is a fifth-year PhD candidate and has been a practicing community pharmacist since 2009. She is also a certified diabetes and travel health educator. Siyam holds a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from Cairo University and a Master of Science in Pharmacy from UoA. Tasneem is a passionate researcher – her thesis project is geared towards improving the health outcomes of women who go through an early surgical menopause, by developing a decision aid tool that can help women make complex health decisions related to managing menopause.