Supporting Innovation in Pharmacy for a Healthier Canada

Thank you, Dayle

CFP President Deb Saltmarche and Dalye Acorn

NOVEMBER 2022 - The Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy’s outgoing Executive Director Dayle Acorn was recognized for his tremendous contributions to the profession with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Acorn was honoured at the recent Pillar of Pharmacy event in Toronto, where he was lauded for his 15-year tenure at CFP—the longest of any executive director in the Foundation’s 78-year history.

“I feel grateful for this honour recognizing the strides we’ve made during my time with the Foundation,” says Acorn, noting that he has worked with many incredible board members and association/industry partners along the way. “I came into this role after Bill 102 had set the profession in a downward revenue spiral, but we were able to create opportunities for pharmacy to demonstrate value through initiatives such as the Innovation Fund Grant.” (Since its inception, the Innovation Fund has provided more than $2 million to researchers and pharmacy innovators.)

Under his leadership, the Foundation published the Pharmacy Management in Canada textbook and subsequent CE program—the first (and still only) textbook dedicated to pharmacy management since 1998. CFP has also provided 40 Wellspring Pharmacy Leadership Awards and some 45 awards to graduate and undergraduate pharmacy students.

No stranger to recognition in the profession, Acorn was celebrated as a pharmacy leader by Pharmacy Practice + Business magazine in 2019, and earned the Canadian Pharmacists Association’s Honorary Life Award in 2016.

Previous Article

Our digital future