Supporting Innovation in Pharmacy for a Healthier Canada

Wellspring Leadership Awards

2019 recipients    
 Jaris_swidrovich  Alexandre_Chagnon  Dan_Burton
Jaris Swidrovich  Alexandre Chagnon  Dan Burton

The Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy is pleased to honour pharmacy leaders from across the country through its Wellspring Pharmacy Leadership Awards. CFP established these awards to honour the legacy of Barbara A. Wells, an exceptional pharmacy leader and beloved colleague who passed away in June 2010.

CFP has awarded grants to 26 pharmacists since the program was established in 2012, for a wide range of initiatives that foster personal development and leadership through study, experiential learning or mentorship. Applicants can apply for up to $10,000 in funding.  

Scroll down to read details on all Award recipients to date.

"The creation of this award was inspired by the kind of leadership that Barb showed throughout her career. As the pharmacy profession moves through unprecedented change, the need for leadership is greater than ever," says Marnie Mitchell, past-president of CFP's Board.

Winners will also be honoured at a reception held during the annual conference of the Canadian Pharmacists Association, happening this year in Toronto, June 3 – 5.

Candidates can nominate themselves or be nominated by others. Please use the buttons below to download the criteria and application form. Please send the completed application to Please note: nominations are closed for 2019.

Related link:

2019 Wellspring Awards Reception, June 4

Donate to the Wellspring Pharmacy Leadership Awards


Wellspring Leadership Awards Recipients

Alexandre Chagnon
askyourpharmacist.caView More Details
Dan Burton
Pharmacy Innovators and Leaders of AlbertaView More Details
Jaris Swidrovich
University of SaskatchewanView More Details
Amy Lamb
Medi-Centre Pharmacy, SaskatoonView More Details
Certina Ho
ISMP CanadaView More Details
Michael Kani
Michael's Pharmacy, SaskatoonView More Details

Craig Plain
Pier Health, VancouverView More Details
Naomi Steenhof
University Health Network/University of TorontoView More Details
Patricia Gerber
University of British ColumbiaView More Details
Cheyanne Boehm
Clinical Pharmacist, Regina Qu'Appelle Health RegionView More Details
Mark Kunzli
Project Manager & Associate Director, UBC Sequencing CentreView More Details
Nicole Tsao
PhD candidate, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, UBCView More Details

Aaron Sihota
View More Details
Jamie Kellar
University of TorontoView More Details
Noelle Patten
Newfoundland and Labrador Pharmacy BoardView More Details
Sherilyn Houle
University of WaterlooView More Details
Ingrid Sketris
Dalhousie UniversityView More Details
Kelly Grindrod
University of WaterlooView More Details
Rod Forsey
Lawtons DrugsView More Details

Bryan Gray
View More Details
Katrina Mulherin
View More Details
Kristine Petrasko
View More Details
Robert Pammett
View More Details
Christina Adams
Shoppers Drug Mart Specialty Health NetworkView More Details
Janet MacDonnell
View More Details
Jeff Whissell
Alberta Pharmacists' AssociationView More Details
Theresa Schindel
University of AlbertaView More Details