Supporting Innovation in Pharmacy for a Healthier Canada

Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy Supporting the Profession of Pharmacy for 65 years

In 1944, A.W. "Whit" Matthews (Director, University of Alberta School of Pharmacy) and John Kennedy (President, United Drug Company) recognized the need to support pharmaceutical education and research in Canada. The vision of these two pharmacy leaders culminated in the formation of the Canadian Foundation for the Advancement of Pharmacy in 1945.

For 65 years, the CFP has raised and distributed millions of dollars in support of the profession of pharmacy. Today, our Board of Directors continues their vision by providing funding for a number of innovative practice research projects, from pharmacist compensation to patient outcomes and expanding scope of practice, including understanding prescriptive authority. The results of these investments will benefit all pharmacists. With your continued support, we look forward to advancing our mission for the next 65 years!

Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy Past Presidents [1945 to present]

1945/46 Mr. John R. Kennedy
1947/48 Mr. Cecil. C. White
1948/49 Mr. C.H. Lander
1949/50 Mr. Cyril H. Wilkins
1950/51 Mr. Elliot S. Frosst
1951/52 Mr. Reginald Cary
1952/53 Dr. G. A Lapointe
1953/54 Dean A.Whitney Matthews
1954/55 Lt.-Col. Frederick A. Tilson V.C.
1955/56 Mr. Thomas B. Horsler
1956/57 Dr. F. Norman Hughes
1957/58 Dr. Paul H. Soucy
1958/59 Mr. David L. Menzies
1959/60 Mr. Anson McKim
1959/61 Dr. Roger Larose
1961/62 Mr. H. Charles Peacock
1962/63 Mr. Frank C. Cleary
1963/64 Mr. William Labow
1964/65 Mr. J. Crawford Gould
1965/66 Col. Fred Tilston, V.C.
1966 Dr. Wesley C. MacAulay
1966/67 Mr. John Alexander
1967/68 Mr. Larry Haskett
1968 Dr. Mervyn J. Houston
1969/70 Mr. J. Edward Rose
1970/71 Mr. M.R. Osbourne

1971/72 Mr. D.H.Burgess
1972/73 Mr. Clifford A. Rogers
1973/74 Mr. G.J.Odell
1974/75 Dr. J.R. Murray
1975/76 Mr. J.P.Doherty
1976/77 Dr. Bernie E. Reidel
1977/78 Mr. C.G. Cornell
1978/79 Mr. G.H. Dyer
1979/80 Mr. Bill T. Keene
1980/81 Mr. Frank .J. Burke
1981/82 Mr. Terry A. Mailloux
1982/83 Dr. Bruce R. Schnell
1983/84 Mr. Percy Skuy
1984/85 Mr. John J. Ryan
1985/86 Dr. J. Gordon Duff
1986/87 Mr. Romeo Franceschini
1987/88 Mr. G. Kingsley Ward
1988/89 Dr. Gaston Labrecque
1989/90 Mr. Stan Lissack
1990/91 Ms. Morna Cook
1991/92 Mr. Alfred C. Scales
1992/93 Dr. Pauline Beaulac
1993/94 Dr. Pauline Beaulac
1994/95 Mr. Byron G. Sarson
1995/96 Dr. John McNeill
1996/97 Mr. Malcolm Seath

1997/98 Dr. Nancy MacDonald
1998/99 Mr. Gerald McDole
1999/00 Dr. Colin Briggs
2000/01 Mr. Barry Phillips
2001/02 Mr. Fred Smith
2002/03 Mr. Patrick King
2003/04 Ms Linda Lytle
2004/05 Mr. Bev Allen
2005/06 Mr. Aubrey Browne
2006/07 Dr. Kenneth W. Hindmarsh
2007/08 Ms. Christina A. Bisanz
2008/09 Mr. William F. Veniot
2009/10 Mr. Peter Marshall
2010/11 Ms. Bessie Wang
2011/12 Mr. Ryan Itterman
2012/13 Ms. Linda Prytula
2013/14 Ms. Marnie Mitchell
2014/15 Mr. Marshall Moleschi
2015/16 Ms. Anne Maheu
2016/17 Mr. David Edwards
2017/18 Mr. Derek Desrosiers
2018/19 Mr. David Windross
2019/20 Mr. Bill Wilson
2020/21 Ms. Linda Prytula
2021/22 Ms. Margaret Wing
2022/23 Ms. Deb Saltmarche



Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy Executive Directors

Since inception, the Foundation has employed very few staff, and most on a part-time basis. They have relied heavily on its numerous volunteers to carry out its mandate.

1947 - 1956 Mr. Aubrey A. Browne Executive Secretary-Treasurer
1956 - 1962 Mr. John R. Kennedy Executive Secretary-Treasurer
1963 - 1969 Mr. Reginald Cary Executive Secretary-Treasurer
1970 - 1981 Mr. Larry Haskett Executive Secretary-Treasurer
1982 - 1987 Mr. Baxter Rowsell Executive Secretary-Treasurer
1987 - 1995 Ms. Donna Shaw Executive Director
1995 - 2000 Mr. Stu Ryan Executive Director
2000 - 2002 Dr. Murray Brown Executive Director
2002 - 2007 Mr. Larry Shipp Executive Director
2007 - 2022 Mr. Dayle Acorn Executive Director
2022 - Present Mr. Paul Kidston Executive Director