Explore Shingrix - GSK
Close this search box.

2018 Pillar of Pharmacy: Ray Murphy

2018 Pillar of Pharmacy: Ray Murphy | Picture of CFP' sExecutive Director, Dayle Acorn handing the award to Ray Murphy

2018 Pillar of Pharmacy: Ray Murphy

JULY 2018 – Ray Murphy, founder of Murphy’s Pharmacies in P.E.I., is this year’s recipient of the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy’s prestigious Pillar of Pharmacy Award.

“Ray Murphy is very much a Pillar of Pharmacy, demonstrated by his lifelong commitment to the profession of pharmacy, to his patients and to his community,” says David Windross, President of CFP. “Ray is a passionate advocate for patient care and meeting the needs of his patients.”

Murphy’s accomplishments as a pharmacist, business owner and community leader are innumerable. Most recently, in December 2017, the Governor General of Canada appointed Murphy to the Order of Canada, this country’s highest civilian honour (this follows his appointment to the Order or Prince Edward Island in 2007). In 2016, Murphy was named Entrepreneur of the Year by the Greater Charlottetown Area of Commerce.

Within the profession of pharmacy, Murphy established Murphy’s Pharmacies in 1981. Today there are 13 locations across the province, as well as walk-in clinics, a home health care store and travel medicine clinic. His pharmacies offer a wide array of patient services, which actively incorporate authorities available under the province’s expanded scope of practice. He has received the Canadian Pharmacists Association’s (CPhA) Meritorious Service Award (2012) and the CPhA Patient Care Achievement Award (2008). He and his pharmacy team have also received multiple Commitment to Care and Service Awards from Pharmacy Practice + Business magazine.

His commitment to give back to the community is clearly evident, spanning numerous volunteer activities over the decades—from personal canvassing to chairing fundraising campaigns and serving as a board member for numerous charitable and non-profit organizations. His leadership by example includes countless community sponsorships by Murphy’s Pharmacies, culminating in the company’s ongoing support of Murphy’s Community Centre in Charlottetown.

CFP will honour Ray Murphy at its Pillar of Pharmacy Award reception and dinner this fall. CFP established the Pillar of Pharmacy Award in 1997 to celebrate the achievements of pharmacists who have demonstrated their dedication to advancing the profession of pharmacy.

Like it? Share it with your colleagues


Related Articles

Join Our Newsletter

Get notified when new articles are published, news events are posted, etc.

Make a Million-Dollar Difference

The Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy is dedicated to advancing the profession of pharmacy by funding practical, grassroots research and innovative models of practice. To do this, CFP relies on donations from individuals and corporations.

Changing Face of Pharmacy

Fall 2023

Services Chart

As part of its annual Changing Face of Pharmacy report, the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy...

COVID-19 Chart

The federal and provincial governments have enacted a wide range of temporary laws, regulations...