Supporting Innovation in Pharmacy for a Healthier Canada

Lifetime Achievement

Do you know someone who has made a lasting impact on the profession of pharmacy? Help recognize their achievements by nominating them for the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy's Lifetime Achievement Award!

Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award have demonstrated dedicated service to the profession for 20 or more years, and have made an impact on the practice and/or advancement of pharmacy. The nomination criteria area as follows (and can be downloaded using the button below):

  • Candidates need to be nominated by their peers; please submit a description of the person's contributions to the profession over his or her career;
  • The nominee must have worked in an area connected to the pharmacy profession for 20 or more years (in practice, with an association or regulatory body, in academia or in industry); and
  • Recipients are selected at the sole discretion of the CFP Board of Directors, and are not necessarily selected every year; however, there may be more than one recipient in any given year.

Please send nominations to


The Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy launched the Lifetime Achievement Awards in 2015 and is very pleased to honour the following recipients so far.

Dr. David Edwards, President of CFP, congratulates Marshall Moleschi on his Lifetime Achievement Award
Marshall Moleschi (Awarded Sept. 2016)

After graduating from the University of B.C. in 1974, Marshall Moleschi experienced pharmacy in almost all of its settings: community, hospital, long-term care and healthcare administration. Equipped with those experiences, he turned to the regulation of pharmacy as the focus for his leadership abilities, first as Registrar of the College of Pharmacists of B.C. and most recently as Registrar of the Ontario College of Pharmacists (OCP). He has helped guide the profession in both provinces through unprecedented changes to scope of practice, which included extensive travels to district meetings and provincial conferences to motivate pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to embrace the opportunities to expand their services to patients. In Ontario, Marshall evolved the College's practice assessments of pharmacies away from simply a traditional checklist of adherence to rules to include an evaluation of the practice, which includes coaching practitioners to enhance their delivery of pharmacy services. Marshall is also a Past President of the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy. He retired as Registrar of OCP in September 2016.

CFP Past President Marshall Moleschi congratulates Ron Guse 
Ron Guse (Awarded Feb. 2016)

During his 31 years at the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba (formerly the Manitoba Pharmaceutical Association), where he was Registrar from 1999 until his retirement in 2016, Ron Guse helped steer the profession of pharmacy through significant periods of change. He helped develop and champion the new Pharmaceutical Act, passed into law in 2006 and considered the most progressive legislation for pharmacists' scope of practice at the time. In 2002, working with the regulatory bodies for physicians and nurses, Ron was instrumental in launching Continued Care Prescriptions, which came to serve as a model for collaborative practice agreements in other provinces. And in 1999 he forged ahead through controversy and uncharted territory to establish regulatory guidelines and standards of practice for the new sector of international prescription service pharmacies (also known as cross-border mail order pharmacies).

Susan Wedlake receives the CFP Lifetime Achievment Award from Marshal Moleschi, CFP Past President.
Susan Wedlake (Awarded Nov. 2015)

Since becoming Registrar of the Nova Scotia College of Pharmacists (formerly Nova Scotia Pharmaceutical Society) in 1994, Susan Wedlake has accomplished a number of "firsts" for the profession in Nova Scotia, which have served as models for other provinces. She pioneered the SafetyNETRx program, which helps pharmacies implement quality-assurance measures to prevent medication errors. She took on a leadership role to develop standards of practice under an expanded scope of practice, particularly in the areas of lab information and testing, and assessing and prescribing for minor ailments. And Susan spearheaded legislation to create the new profession of pharmacy technician in Nova Scotia, one of the first provinces in Canada to do so. Susan retired as Registrar in 2015.