Supporting Innovation in Pharmacy for a Healthier Canada

Innovation Fund Grant

2018 Recipients
John Papastergiou
Paula Newman
Saleema Bhaidani
Lisa Woodill (PANS)

As Canada's only national pharmacy charity, since 1945 CFP has transformed more than $2 million in individual and corporate donations into awards, bursaries and scholarships for pharmacy innovators and leaders across the country. Grants from the Innovation Fund are a core component of CFP's commitment to support pharmacy for a healthier Canada.

Click here for general information about criteria and the online application processYou can also contact CFP Executive Director Dayle Acorn at or 905.997.3238.

Click here to apply for a 2019 grant, which begins with the online submission of a Letter of Intent.

The deadline to submit Letters of Intent is Friday, May 3, 2019.

A Summary of the Projects that Received Innovation Fund Grants in 2018:

Vaccine Adherence Rates

John Papastergiou, owner of two Shoppers Drug Mart pharmacies in Toronto, Ontario, and his research team at the University of Toronto are quantifying vaccine adherence rates nationally when they’re provided through a community pharmacy.

Opioid Stewardship

Paula Newman and her crew at NorthWest Telepharmacy Solutions are determining the feasibility and effectiveness of a pharmacist-led opioid stewardship program for chronic non-cancer pain, using videoconferencing technology.

Appointment-Based Model

Saleema Bhaidani of Whole Health Pharmacy Partners and Lisa Dolovich, researcher at University of Toronto, are studying the impact of an appointment-based model of practice on patients and community pharmacy staff.

"Prescription to Thrive" for Practice Change

The Pharmacy Association of Nova Scotia (PANS) is seeking to establish a model for practice change in community pharmacy, using expert faciliators to address challenges, train staff and help develop sustainable business plans.

For more details on past years' recipients, see below.

Innovation Fund Grant Recipients

John Papastergiou
Vaccine adherence rates, University of TorontoView More Details
Paula Newman
Opioid stewardship, NorthWest Telepharmacy SolutionsView More Details
Pharmacy Association of Nova Scotia
Prescription to ThriveView More Details
Saleema Bhaidani, Lisa Dolovich
Appointment-based model of practice, Whole Health Pharmacy PartnersView More Details
Dr. Feng Chang
High-dose, high-risk opioid use, University of WaterlooView More Details
Dr. Lori MacCallum
Diabetes follow-up, Banting & Best Diabetes Centre, U of TView More Details
Dr. Ross Tsuyuki
UTI Management, University of AlbertaView More Details

Dr. Barbara Farrell
Deprescribing, Bruyère Research InstituteView More Details
Dr. Line Guénette
Adherence e-tools, Laval UniversityView More Details
Sara Guilcher
Seamless care, University of TorontoView More Details
Christine Hughes, Terri Schindel, Rene Breault
Alberta Pharmacy Services Framework, University of AlbertaView More Details
Sherilyn Houle
Travel medicine, University of WaterlooView More Details
Tejal Patel, Dr. Linda Lee
Support for frail elderly, University of WaterlooView More Details

Drs. Jeff Taylor and Kerry Mansell
Minor ailments, University of SaskatchewanView More Details
John Papastergiou
Home-visit medication reviewsView More Details
Drs. Carlo Marra & Larry Lynd
PHInDMORE (medication management), University of British ColumbiaView More Details
Pharmacists Manitoba
Smoking cessationView More Details

Certina Ho
Safety Alerts, ISMP CanadaView More Details
Lisa McCarthy
PRIME (personalized medicine)View More Details
Ontario Pharmacists Association, Green Shield Canada
Hypertension managementView More Details

Neil McKinnon
SafetyNET-Rx, Dalhousie UniversityView More Details
Dr. Lisa Guirguis
Pharmacist prescribing, University of AlbertaView More Details

2007 & 2008
Dr. Ross Tsuyuki
Chronic disease management, University of AlbertaView More Details